Sidewalk Stage

This is a lonely state of mind,
one that realizes the replies
have come too little too late
and that perfect thing to say
was already said by someone else.
I’m reading my palm
like a script for a play,
shouting so the back can hear me
and whispering for an understudy
to come out
and take their place
so I can leave
through the trap door,
like a fake trick
something
that is barely even describable,
yet looks too childish for me to be seen
as the character I am.

About Sean O'Gorman

Spoken Word poet from Ottawa. View all posts by Sean O'Gorman

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,260 other followers

