Swift

Here’s where I fear that we might become strangers,
where the screen turns off
and that lonely look crawls over my face for all the times
I only wished I could hold you.
You are the strength found in beauty
when looking no longer needs nails to dig down into the ground,
and along found pleasures
this distance only makes me sweat
for the separate intensities
that had me glowing when I talked to you,
and broken when the power goes out.

I’m like a rat in a maze
where the walls graze the sides of my arms
and the lines I leave behind
will only ever tell you where I’ve been.
I know that I love you
as surely as
I know how long we’ll be apart,
and I watch time
become years
even after the plans are changed.

I didn’t mean to mess this up
but I got caught up in you,
the way you spoke, smiled and tasted
all kept me liquid,
like something destined to slip away.
This isn’t about never,
it just cant be right now.

About Sean O'Gorman

Spoken Word poet from Ottawa. View all posts by Sean O'Gorman

Leave a Reply

