Bad days

I went looking for a better reason to wake up
and while walking past this bus-stop I coughed
and had to stop
just to catch my breath.
Today’s one of those hopeful days
where I get to see all my problems manifest into a test
that I avoid at all costs.
As if happily lost on some train of thought
that’s brought more than it’s promised to
and the list covers both sides.
The negative spinning, into grinning teeth
until everything seems good
and they look like their happy
while their skin pulled back into an intentional face,
looking at the way I do things
and pretending to smile.

About Sean O'Gorman

Spoken Word poet from Ottawa. View all posts by Sean O'Gorman

Leave a Reply

