Pray these days

I will wake up
and I will take breath
even if I cant see why
and through those social ties
I won’t rely
on the lonely habits
of my obsessions.
These tired digressions
that only torment me
with how things were,
or could’ve been.
But these eyes of mine
will constantly shine
past jaded obstacles
that remember everyone
and remind the rest
of indifference first
before active tests,
just waiting for someone
to make the first mistake
that allows them to partake
in the screaming
and the yelling
that still
brings that awful chill
to the things
that I believe in.

I will wake up
and I will take breath
even if I cant see why,
because I want to break ties
and see through lies
where all my frustrations
and angry salutations
are all looking
and begging
for more.
When temptations
come with calculations
and the marks where hands get torn.
Right through these walls
where certain things fall
and the rest just floated by.
Paying no attention,
to these, my frustrations,
or the things that I’ve applied.

Now I will wake up
and I will take breath
even if I cant see why,
because there’s more in the world
than the things that hurt
and what often makes us cry.

About Sean O'Gorman

Spoken Word poet from Ottawa. View all posts by Sean O'Gorman

Leave a Reply

