One thing shared

I think it’s always been me,
that person I’m always complaining about
that guy and that girl,
those strangers and friends
all those people I love and hate
have all been versions of myself
and when tensions began to vibrate
all those walking mirrors
began screaming and whispering
until I began to notice.
See my own face in the people passing by
where every mistake I’ve ever made
can be found
in the laugh lines on faces
and the frown scars on forehead wrinkles.
every breath I’ve ever taken
can be seen every winter
and felt every summer.
if I were given the gift of an eternal life
I’d probably lock myself in a cellar
but as it stands
I just cant let go of the crowded sidewalks,
those lonely places that will always remind me
that I’m not
all by myself.

About Sean O'Gorman

Spoken Word poet from Ottawa. View all posts by Sean O'Gorman

Leave a Reply

