Almost Everyday

I have nothing to do but everything
and I’ve got a bucket list so long
that i named it a barrel,
named it
after the way I’ve gone through this life
and
of the things I’ve saved for last
none of them seem to be in any order,
there’s just time
still trying to be enough
like the clocks might chase me into
some unknown tomorrow
catching me in a timeline
between
the monsters beneath my bed
and the gray hairs overtaking my head.
Age has become a mystery to me
and I’m barely through my thirties
but when i hear the word please
in the tone of my own voice
it feels like the choice i made
was just to take a little more time
looking for the kind of smile
you can only get from strangers,
wanting to see it somewhere,
everywhere,
while walking down the street.

About Sean O'Gorman

Spoken Word poet from Ottawa. View all posts by Sean O'Gorman

2 responses to “Almost Everyday

Leave a Reply

